gototopgototop
  • artmuseum
  • artmuseum


The collection “Karelo-Finnish Epic Poem Kalevala in the Art of Karelian, Russian and Foreign Artists”


The Fine Arts Museum contains a unique collection of art works on the theme of the Karelo-Finnish epic poem “Kalevala”. At present, it counts about 700 exhibits. Its main part is made up by the book and easel graphic works executed by the artists from Karelia, St. Petersburg and Moscow.
Especially valuable are the drawings by M.P. Tsybasov and A.I. Poret - members of the artistic union “Masters of Analytical Art” headed by Pavel Filonov. Under his direct guidance, these artists participated in illustrating the first edition of “Kalevala” in our country («Academia» Publishers, 1933).

The main part of the collection is made up by the works of Karelian artists. Illustrations to the Karelo-Finnish epic poem is the best thing ever created during the short life of the Karelian Osmo Pavlovich Borodkin (1913 - 1949) Page illustrations, headpieces, and end pieces of runes contain Karelian characters, landscapes, and ornaments, skillfully stylized by the artist.

The National Artist of Karelia, Georgy Adamovich Stronk (1910 - 2005.), worked on “Kalevala” over 50 years. The Museum has his water colors from early 1950s and a set of illustrations to "Kalevala", published in Petrozavodsk in 1956. “Kalevala” in his interpretation is a poem about heroes equal in spirit to Russian epic Bogatyrs.

There is a rather complete and diverse representation of “Kalevala” art by the National Artist of Russia Myd Marievich Mechev (born 1929). For many years, starting from 1950s, the artist turned to the theme of the epic poem. He “read” the ancient runes principally in a new way and saw high epic realism in them. The images of Mechev are filled with high moral ideals and music of the North.

 “Kalevala” is the main theme in the art of the Honored Artist of Russia, Tamara Grigorievna Yufa (born 1937). In her figural interpretation, “Kalevala” is presented as a capturing song about a woman, her love and suffering. The Museum holds such widely known works of this artist of 1960 – 70s ("Aino", "Pohjola Bride”, "Aino’s Mother”, etc.)

In the 1980s, the “Kalevala” collection of the Museum was extended thanks to the water colors of the honored artist of RKВ Nikolai Ivanovich Bryukhanov (1918 - 2004) from the series “Kalevala Motiffs”, and by illustrations of Boris Ravilievich Akbulatov (born 1949).

Many years of inspired work were devoted to “Kalevala” by a famous book artist, National Artist of Russia Valentin Ivanovich Kurdov (1905 - 1989). Precious acquisitions for the Fine Arts Museum of Karelia were the drawings of V.I. Kurdov (author’s versions) to “Kalevala” of 1979 (Leningrad, “Hudozhestvennaya Literatura” Publishing House).

There is a significant collection of “Kalevala” theme works made by a famous St. Petersburg artist Yuri Konstantinovich Lyukshin (born 1949). In his works, the traditions of the “Filonov school” and Russian folk popular print.

The collection of “Kalevala” graphic works also includes sketches of stained glass “Heroes of Kalevala” by E. A. Akulov, as well as works of theater and decorative and applied art (scenery of A.A. Shelkovnikov to the “Sampo” ballet by Sinisalo, puppet sketches made by V.O. Polyakov for the Petrozavodsk Puppet Theater performance “The Song of Sampo”, small statuary of birch bark by V.A. Kostylev and wood carved panes by I.G. Gashkov).

The "Kalevala" collection is the most popular and movable part of the Fine Arts Museum funds, it is annually shown at exhibitions in the Museum, the items from this collection take part in international projects. “Kalevala” epic poem is an ever-living source and stimulus for modern artists.

gototopgototop
  • artmuseum
  • artmuseum
  • artmuseum


Калевала

Коллекция «Карело-финский эпос «Калевала» в творчестве

карельских, российских и зарубежных художников»

В Музее изобразительных искусств собрана уникальная коллекция произведений на темы карело-финского эпоса "Калевала". В настоящее время она насчитывает около 700 экспонатов. Основную её часть составляет книжная и станковая графика художников Карелии, Санкт-Петербурга и Москвы.

Особую ценность представляют рисунки М.П.Цыбасова и А.И.Порет , членов художественного объединения «Мастера аналитического искусства» возглавляемого Павлом Филоновым. Под его непосредственным руководством эти художники приняли участие в иллюстрировании первого издания «Калевалы» в нашей стране (издательство «Academia» 1933).


Основную часть коллекции составляют работы художников Карелии. Иллюстрации к карело-финскому  эпосу - лучшее, что создал за свою короткую жизнь карел Осмо Павлович Бородкин (1913 - 1949 гг.) В страничных иллюстрациях, заставках и концовках к рунам присутствуют карельские типажи, пейзажи, орнаменты, умело стилизованные художником.

Более 50 лет работал над "Калевалой" Народный художник Карелии Георгий Адамович Стронк (1910 - 2005.). Музей располагает его акварелями начала 50-х годов и циклом иллюстраций к книге "Kalevala", изданной в Петрозаводске в 1956 году. В его интерпретации «Калевала» - это поэма о героях равных по силе духа русским былинным богатырям.

Достаточно полно и разнообразно представлено в фондах музея "калевальское" творчество Народногохудожника России Мюда Мариевича Мечева (род. 1929 г.) На протяжении многих лет, начиная с 50-х годов, обращался художник к теме эпоса. Он принципиально по новому «прочитал» древние руны, увидев в них высокий эпический реализм. Образы Мечева наполнены высокими нравственными идеалами и музыкой Севера.

Эпос "Калевала" - главная тема творчества Заслуженного художника России Тамары Григорьевны Юфа (род. 1937 г.). В её пластической интерпретации "Калевала" предстаёт как пленительная песнь о женщине, её любви и страданиях. Музею принадлежат широко известные работы этой художницы 60 - 70-х годов ("Айно", "Невеста Похъёлы", "Мать Айно" и др.)

В 80-е годы "Калевальская" коллекция музея пополнилась акварелями заслуженного художника РК НиколаяИвановича Брюханова ( 1918 - 2004.) из серии "Мотивы Калевалы", иллюстрациями Бориса Равильевича Акбулатова (род. 1949 г.).

Много лет вдохновлённого творческого труда отдал "Калевала" известный художник книги, народный художник России Валентин Иванович Курдов (1905 - 1989 г.г.). Ценным приобретением для Музея изобразительных искусств Республики Карелия стали рисунки В.И.Курдова (авторские варианты) к книге "Калевала" 1979 года (Ленинград, издательство "Художественная литература").

Значительна коллекция калевальских работ известного  художника из Санкт-Петербурга Юрия Константиновича Люкшина (род. 1949 г.). В его работах своеобразно переплелись традиции «филоновской школы» и русского народного лубка.

Коллекцию "Калевальской" графики дополняют эскизы витражей "Герои Калевалы" Э.А.Акулова, а также произведения театрального и декоративно - прикладного искусства (декорации А. А. Шелковникова к балету Г.Синисало "Сампо", эскизы кукол В.О.Полякова к спектаклю петрозаводского Театра кукол "Песнь о Сампо", мелкая пластика из бересты В.А.Костылева, резные панно И.Г. Гашкова)

"Калевальская" коллекция наиболее востребованная и подвижная часть фондов Музея изобразительных искусств Республики Карелия, она ежегодно показывается на выставках в музее, экспонаты коллекции принимают  участие в международных проектах.  Эпос "Калевала" - неиссякаемый источник и стимул для творчества современных художников.